Sadness comes with leaving Paradise

4725 – March 29, 2024

Coffee on the beach today came up with this photo.

I am doing my best to keep my myself in a good frame of mind despite what only seems like an attempt by JetBlue to make us miserable. We have to remind ourselves that the vacation was worth it and that any issues we had were minor and the relaxation and Zen moments must absolutely remain with us. Our original flight booked months ago to fly home was not direct. Direct was clearly not a possibility, which I find very odd. Prices were outlandish for the one stop flights already. We were set to leave on Saturday and several weeks before departure, I checked JetBlue to find that they had changed our return flight so that instead of leaving on Saturday, that they had us leaving at 9:00 pm in the evening on Friday, something that psychologically leaves me feeling as if I have lost a day. That flight scenario had to be changed when my Internet research discovered that flying into Boston at 1:30 am is not a good thing as one MUST leave the airport. Apparently Dax Shepard and Kristen Bell found that out the hard way. Our return flight from Boston to Chicago was set to leave many hours after arrival in Boston. So we set to have a red eye flight to JFK leaving around 12:30 am on Friday (no flights were possible on Saturday, of course) and we have a four hour layover there. Ordeal it is and neither our age nor health status were of any use. Not only that, but this trip has been plagued by us seemingly checking in only to be told by people working for the airlines that we are not. There is so much mystery here and I feel as if I must learn something from all of this.

In all my years of flight travel, which began in 1971 when I was 20 years old and flew from Cleveland, Ohio to Paris (at least I think I had a direct flight), I have experienced a good amount of airline issues but never anything like this. We live in a time period where we can get so much information, but now we seem to more often than not, not able to get any clear results from our questions to the involved companies.

I shall retain my feelings of Zen and not allow this to get to me.

A report to follow…

Published by RJK

Seventy something, father, educator, organizer, Francophile, traveler, amateur photographer, gardener, cyclist, kayaker, calligrapher, cinephile, reader, and overall renaissance type human being.

Leave a comment