Ali, the border (disorder) collie at work

It is freezing cold this morning and the experts are worried that it shall be dangerous.  It is about twelve degrees Fahrenheit and the wind chill factor is supposed to exacerbate even that.  I do remember the actual fifteen below degrees and more when the boys were born back in the eighties.  Now that was cold weather!

I sent Ali out  for the paper and she did her usual “disorderly” thing.  One thing I detest is two driveways side by side.  In my life, with houses, because I have been forced to be very crafty in buying homes, I have always had to have a house with some issues.  The first big one was trains.  I was always in a house near a train.  Now I am further from the train but the issue of driveway came up and it almost prevented us from buying this house.  Our first one had an actual shared driveway.  Because of this, I was the snow remover for both households.  I must say, that despite my younger day timidity, I actually talked to the people and gave them a large piece of my mind.  Perhaps that accounts for my mind loss at present?  Anyway, I am getting away from the subject, once again.  Age?

Our current house has two driveways side by side with a small one foot gap between them.  Currently, it is filled with ugly white stones that turn to white powder when I run them over when they wander onto my car’s path.  I personally hate them, but my neighbor originally put them in and likes them.  I have tried to grow sedum “accidentally” in the area, but usually what occurs is that weeds love it. Anyway, once again I am off the subject.

As this “gap” gets toward the house, there is a large fence my neighbor put up.  But, for the most part it is open space.  Ali is a dog who is good about getting a newspaper.  She recognizes the usually blue plastic sack that it comes in.  The problem is that there are usually two of them in the large apron at the end of the driveways where mine merges with the neighbor’s.  Ali, for some cosmic reason, almost always tries to grab the neighbor’s, ignoring mine.  Then I am forced to go out and throw his on his property.  So the wonderful ability of Ali to help us out is canceled out by the fact that she has retrieved the wrong newspaper!  Believe me, I am not going to incur his wrath as I remember so well the “Arrow to Ugliness!”  Today, of course, guess what happened?

Leave a Reply

