Jury Duty

Today the Jury summons came. I am quite the content man, it was not for me. It was for my ninety year old mother!

The amusing thing is that once again bureaucracy manages to make something complicated out of something relatively easy. First of all, isn’t it odd that my nonagenarian mom would receive a summons when she is clearly elderly and the summons is tied into a database that should know that?

The other issue is that I perused the paperwork and decided that I would do it online, which it said you could. It did also, unless I am missing something, not give the actual website. I did find it, however.

So I fill it out, it is a page by page thing, and then I realize that it has ended, before the part of the paper copy, where you can disqualify yourself from duty for being over seventy and prefer not to serve. And when I went to save the page, it sent it in! So, despite the fact that it asks not to have you send the paperwork in if you have filed online, I did so.

Not only is the age a good reason, she also no longer lives in Lake County. I tried to change the address to her current nursing home, which is in Cook County, but they wouldn’t allow me to do so.

Honestly, given the way things are, maybe my mom with dementia might be a good juror! My mom is certainly more with it than the Lake County Jury System!

The funny thing about the jury duty thing is that I am convinced that some people are just meant to be called in for jury duty. I cannot believe that it took my mom ninety years of life to be asked. In my younger days, I served three times! I am one of the “chosen” and was called once (and served) in Cook county when I lived in that county. They called me again right after I moved to Lake County. While in Lake County, I have served twice. I just don’t get it. Why are some chosen and some not?

One of these days, this mystery might be solved!

Leave a Reply

