Christmas Lights and some more thoughts on Day Six of rehab

 

 “Christmas night, another fight, tears we cried a flood,

Got all kinds of poison in, poison in the blood…”

“Christmas Lights” by Coldplay

Got to thinking, thinking still, just cannot turn off the flood of things than come into my head.

Is anyone like me?   A song that comes into your life at a particular time that later on when heard will trigger thoughts of that time period?   The above song is one of those, I normally am not able to determine when this will happen, I know for a fact that this is the case with this one which, I believe, I purchased on my iPhone before all of the current trauma came to pass.

I have to say that I have enough of the snob in me to keep me from quoting songs.  I couldn’t help myself with this one.  Listening to the whole song, I realize it doesn’t really apply, but strangely, certain parts do…

Another thought occurred, is Mikey really the one who is “healing?”  Is it possibly the rest of us?  Although I know far better than to think that I need to turn inward and blame myself for what has happened, the thought does force itself into my neurons every so often.  Perhaps we are all healing, and that is the one thought that keeps me going.

One response to “Christmas Lights and some more thoughts on Day Six of rehab

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review « Thoughts of a pretired French Teacher

Leave a Reply

