Swim Meditations, Day Three of Detox

I slept okay last night, as well as one could given the situation with which we are dealing.  Mixed up a batch of cookies for baking later, had breakfast, and went to the gym to swim and meditate.

While swimming my mind did what it is so good at, whirring incessantly with all sorts of thoughts about the current detox/rehab situation and things that will need to be done in order to extricate our son from the web of his California life. He made it very clear from the point that he admitted to his disease that he needed to stay in the Chicago area.  I keep thinking about his situation and have to keep reminding myself that this is just as if we had discovered that he had some chronic disease, one for which there is no hope of actually recovering.  Remission may occur, hopefully will, but there are no guarantees.  I know, that in terms of addiction, our society is less than understanding of this and that we are all programmed pretty much to look down on those who suffer from it.  I am not saying it is easy to comprehend the behaviors, but we are so quick to blame and not truly realize what is going on.  The biggest part of the illness is being able to discern when it is the person talking to you as opposed to the drugs doing the communication.

Today has been spent on familial discussion of the next plan of action.  We need to figure out what we are going to do in regards to his finances, his possessions in California, etc.

The detoxee said that he is in need of quarters (for phone calls), a razor (it seems he came to visit us without one), and other incendiary items.  We will be able to deliver them later this evening.

Nonetheless, this is all disconcerting since he will be a  clinic detainee for some time and unable to attend to his personal matters, whatever they are. 

Then we have to think about what types of rules we shall have to have and enforce once he is released and comes back to live on the homefront.  Standard procedure is that a Koerner son has the right to borrow a car to go wherever, obviously that cannot be the case.  What will the situation be with his friends?  My thought is that he has to break with anyone with whom he had a relationship based on anything illegal and/or addictive.  There are many questions we need to ask.

to be continued…

One response to “Swim Meditations, Day Three of Detox

  1. It sounds like you have a very hard road in front of you.

    “Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.”

    – 1 Philippians 4 12-13 (The Message)

Leave a Reply

