Grandma Bori’s candy dish

As we are approaching Christmas, I always start thinking about people who have been important in my life.  They are so missed and were such an important part of our family traditions. 

I was just questioned on Grandma Bori on Facebook  yesterday;  my  cousin’s wife asking if I had the infamous recipe for Grandma Bori’s walnut torte.  I do not and I wish I did.  I was the youngest of all the grandchildren and my grandmother always made this torte for birthdays.  The running thought among the cousins was that this cake was the recipe of Satan, a cake that everyone just didn’t like and never wanted to see again.  Not that my grandmother was evil, it is just that this cake was hated.  Rumor even has it that when my cousin Babs threw some of the cake into the pond in her parents’ back yard, that the goldfish died!  I had not experienced the cake as much as everyone else and actually liked it, but my grandmother had gotten the message that this was not to be a cake in her great cooking repertoire.

Thoughts of the cake made me think of my grandmother and the recent sighting in the crawlspace of something that always reminds me of her. 

I crawled in and pulled out the candy dish that she always placed on a cocktail table in her living room.  I opened the box and I took a picture of it.  It is one of those objects I have never known what to do with.  I cannot part with it because of what it represents.  Grandma was a very generous woman, always slipping a five dollar bill or more in my hand and/or pocket, often unbeknownst to my grandfather.  He was generous but not like she was.  Her candy dish was always full, never did we open it up to find it lacking in tasty European candies, generally the  candies were filled with jelly: rectangular ones from Eastern Europe or the raspberry candies that tasted oh so good!

My biggest regret is that my kids only know of her through my conversation about her or the wonderful Hungarian dishes she made.  They will never know the person who seemed to care for me more than anyone else in the family in such a special way. 

Meanwhile, that brings me back to my omnipresent question, “What the heck do I do with this candy dish?”  Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

